100 Auchinairn Road, Glasgow. G64 1NQ. Tel: 01417721271.
The Woodhill. 1991.
Originally known as The Glen built in 1955 and designed by architect L W Hutson, O.B.E and his assistant G H E Hall. Another pub was designed by the same architect The Royal Oak, Old Edinburgh Road, Viewpark and opened a day before the Glen. The two pubs were very similar in design.
James Abernethy was the first licensee, it was his first pub, although he had previous experience in the trade. At the opening in 1955 many trade personalities were present. The pub is situated next to the golf course and across the road from Auchinairn's oldest established pub the Auchinairn Tavern.
Exterior View of the Glen, Auchinairn. 1955.
There was a fire on 24 October 2013 at The Glen Bar / The Woodhill - it was badly damaged and is now demolished. Thanks to Colin Walker for the update.