The Sandyford.1008 Argyle Street, Glasgow.
The Sandyford. 1991.
Established in 1874, the landlord was then William Loudon.
One of the longest licensees for the premises was George Findlay who took over the pub around 1926. It stayed in the Findlay family for almost 70 years.
The pub in the past has been known as Bennett’s Union Jack. A few years ago a new banner was placed over the Sandyford sign called "The Kindmans" however it was taken down a few months later when the pub was sold and the title of Elbow Room appeared above the door.
Popular publican Abraham Bennett owned this pub from 1890 to 1898, the name above the doorway was Bennett's Bar with a large lantern outside with the name entitled the Union Jack Bar. Mr Bennett kept all the best liquor here including his own blend of Scotch the Mountain Dew, and the Union Jack. The interior was very simple consisting of a bar, linoleum on the floor, a smoking room and the family department entered from Kent Road.
This was Patrick McKay's first public house, he went on to own some of the most popular bars in town including the Camp Bar at Queen's Arcade.
Mr Patrick McKay.
This old Finnieston local is now called Lebowskis.