Queens Park Bar.21 Dixon Avenue, Glasgow. G42 8EB. Tel: 01414230215.
Queens Park Bar. 1991.
There has been a pub on this site since 1887. Owner and publican William Morton served the locals here for ten years. He employed a manager Duncan Campbell who was born in the hills of the Trossachs between Aberfoyle and Callander. Duncan's favourite pastime was shooting, angling and curling, he got his early training in the licensed trade with his uncle Charles Campbell who had pubs in Dundas Street and Hutcheson Street. Duncan then moved on to manage Samuel Dow's, Great Western Road for twelve years before moving to the Queen's Park Bar.
A well known blend of Old Scotch whisky could be got at the Queen's Park Bar called "Dougal Cratur."
The pub was sold to Allan MacPherson in 1897, other well known blends of Scotch whisky were added to the vast list of fine liquor's on the premises including "Morven" and "Ye Olde Judge." Allan MacPherson also ran pubs in Elderslie Street and Brunswick Street with the help of his wife. They both lived in Park Terrace before moving to Dalziel Drive, Pollokshields.
Mr MacPherson was fined £5.00 in 1917 for allowing treating on his premises in Brunswick Street, his waiter John Donnelly was fined £2.00 for supplying the customers with the drink.
The Queen's Park Bar was in the MacPherson family for nearly 90 years, for some time now it has been turned into an Irish themed bar.
Manager of Queen's Park Bar, Duncan Campbell. 1890s.
another worker at the Queen's Park Bar was James McCorry, he went on to own his own pub the Glen Bar, 190 Pollokshaws Road.
Mr James McCorry. 1895.