Fleck's Bar.333 Paisley Road corner of 2 Pollok Street, Glasgow.
Fleck's Bar standing on it's own while the bulldozer on the left tidies up after the demolition of tenement buildings. in 1970s.
This old pub dates back to around 1875 when William Fraser was the landlord. Mr Fraser a wine and spirit merchant also had premises at 178 Eglinton Street, 10 Clyde Place, 172 Cumberland Street and 164 East Milton Street.
When old Mr Fraser died around 1895, his son David Speirs Fraser took control of the business of public houses and off license premises. David was not new to the trade as he was running his own pubs from the 1880s which included 278 Cumberland Street at the corner of 3 Camden Street and 307 Eglinton Street at the corner of 62 Cavendish Street, 129 Govan Road, Paisley Road West, Rutland Crescent and Crookston Street.
In 1899 Mr Fraser was paying an annul rent of £15.00 the these premises on 333 Paisley Road,
In the early 1900s David S Fraser advertised "The Canteen" blend of old Scotch whisky in premises at 64 Paisley Road, 93 Govan Road, 333 Paisley Road, 13 Eglinton Street, 307 Eglinton Street and 278 Cumberland Street.
David Speirs Fraser. 1888.
In 1909 this pub was taken over by Thomas Kirkham. He was landlord of Kirkhams Bar in Oswald Street, Glasgow now known as the Quarter Gill.
Thomas Kirkham was born in England in 1830 at an early age he joint the forces and fought in the Indian Mutiny. He met his wife Margaret in Barbados, West Indies. They had 8 children Matthew the eldest was born in Tyzebad, Thomas and Jessie were both born in Sutapore and Mary Jane was born in Kussarolie, East Indies. When they settled in Glasgow they had another four children Margaret, Annie, James and Arthur.
Thomas took over the pub in Oswald Street in 1872 trading here until his death in 1917, he was then residing in Kent Avenue, Jordanhill. His son Thomas George Kirkham then took over as trustee, he had the most experience in the licensed trade as he ran 2 pubs of his own in Ingram Street and West Campbell Street. When his father died he left no estate except £1000 and his pub which was quite a lot of money in those days, his two unmarried daughters were solely dependent upon the business.
Thomas jun later disposed of the pubs in West campbell Street and Ingram Street and continued to run his fathers old pub in Paisley Road at the corner of Pollok Street. He continued to hold the licence for Oswald Street until 1939, when the second world war broke out.
After the war a lady by the name of Mrs Janet Muirhead served the locals here for a few years, she lived on High Street, Tillicoultry, Stirling.
The pub was refurbished in 1950 and a new name was erected above the door, "FLECK'S BAR" named after Joseph Fleck who was well known in the bar during the 1950s and 60s. One of the last licensed holders was Robert A Robertson who took over in 1964 and served the locals here until the pub was demolished in the late 1970s.
Left to right Mr & Mr W Chasson, Rosshire Bar, Mr & Mrs E Mulholland, Rosshire Bar, Mr & Mrs J Fleck, Mr & Mrs McAulay, Boghead Inn, Carmunnock, Mr George Grier, 123 and three in one bars, Mrs Johnstone, Mrs Lundie, Mr M Haxton, Montgomerie Arms Hotel, East Kilbride, Mr A Anderson of George Younger. 1958.
Fleck's Bar Advert 1970.